Three Trojans named to NFL Pro Bowl roster

Troy Polamalu, Clay Matthews, and Ryan Kalil have been named to the 2012 NFL Pro Bowl roster. The trio will represent the Steelers, Packers, and Panthers in Hawaii, where each will be a starter at his position.  It will be a repeat appearance for Kalil, who participated in the same event a year ago. Polamalu and Matthews were selected but did not play.

The selections for 2012 will not only ensure Pro Bowl continuity for some of the league’s brightest stars, but also for the program that produced them. The new roster for the season-ending All-Star game also extends a Southern California streak that now spans six decades.

What we’ve come to know as the Pro Bowl was first played in 1951, and it served as a union of the game’s biggest stars performing on a single field. Quarterback Jim Hardy represented USC in that inaugural contest*, and it would mark the beginning of a consecutive-appearance streak that is now extended to 61 years.

Frank Gifford (40s), Willie Woods (60s), and Bruce Matthews (90s) were perennial Pro Bowlers who assisted in preserving the streak. Matthews’ 14 Pro Bowl appearances ties Merlin Olsen for the league record.

O.J. Simpson, Charles White, Marcus Allen, and Carson Palmer represent USC Heisman Trophy winners to appear in the game, with another, Mike Garrett, representing the Kansas City Chiefs in the now defunct AFL All-Star version.

Don Doll (1952) was the first Trojan to receive Pro Bowl MVP honors. He would later be followed by Frank Gifford (1959), O.J. Simpson (1973), Keyshawn Johnson (1999), and Carson Palmer (2007).

Polamalu will be making his seventh Pro Bowl appearance of his nine year career. For Kalil, the league’s highest paid center, it is his third All-Star game since leaving USC in 2006. Clay Matthews has been elected to the Pro Bowl in each of his three NFL seasons.

In all, the Pac 12 will be represented by 14 players. With Aaron Rodgers, Tony Gonzalez, and Andre Carter elected, Cal ties USC for most players by a conference school.

The 2012 Pro Bowl will be played on January 29th at Aloha Stadium in Hawaii. Players elected but participating in the Super Bowl will be replaced by alternates.

[2012 NFL Pro Bowl Roster]


~ by Anthony on December 27, 2011.

One Response to “Three Trojans named to NFL Pro Bowl roster”

  1. […] Home › NCAA Football › Three Trojans named to NFL Pro Bowl roster […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: