USC gains big commitment for class of ’13

USC ended the season on a high note, having drubbed a crosstown rival to seal 10 victories for the first time since 2008.  The offseason now begins sooner than one would like, but it begins with more reason to smile. The program gained its first commitment for the class of 2013, and it’s a big body of talent destined for stardom.

Delaware’s Kenny Bigelow has given a verbal commitment to Lane Kiffin and USC. The defensive lineman from the Red Lion Academy also received offers from Auburn, Oklahoma, Clemson, Oregon and UCLA. The High school junior was in attendance for the Trojan season finale, and a decision was made from there.

“Man, USC is like a dream come true for me,” Bigelow said. “That was the first time I’ve ever been to the West Coast before and I’ve never seen anything like that. The crowd was huge, the game atmosphere was incredible, I mean I’ve never seen that many people in one place before”.

At 6’3, 280 lbs, he has physically overpowered opponents in his league and at several camps. He appears on the ESPNU watch list and and is rated a 5-star prospect by Scout.com.  Bigelow aspires to be one of the biggest names in the game and at his position, as stated in an interview earlier this year.

“I want to be like the name. I want to be Jadaveon Clowney. I want to be better than Jadaveon Clowney. I want to be number one, right there at the top. I want to be the best at everything I do so I train to be the best.”–247sports

It’s still early in the recruiting process, but the Trojans now have a leg up on the competition. Among the enrollment at Red Lion Christian Academy is another USC commit, QB David Sills, who pledged USC at the age of 13.

 

~ by Anthony on November 30, 2011.

One Response to “USC gains big commitment for class of ’13”

  1. […] Home › NCAA Football › USC gains big commitment for class of ’13 […]

Leave a Reply

 
