Weis takes departing shot at Pete Carroll


The newly ousted coach couldn’t ride off quietly into the sunset.  Instead, Charlie Weis is throwing his weight around.  And like a spoiled child that never got his way, he’s resorting to personal attacks, with one aimed at Pete Carroll.

During his time in South Bend, Weis has made several comments about the USC football program, including descriptions that contained the word “thugs”.  Now stripped of his title, and with bags fully packed, Charlie has raised the bar to target the person most envied.  In the closing of Pete Carroll’s worst season since 2001, it isn’t his coaching or players being criticized.  Weis has chosen to go after the person, now hurling allegations of infidelity.

“Let me ask you this question: You guys know about things that go on in different places. Was I living with a grad student in Malibu, or was I living with my wife in my house? You could bet that if I were living with a grad student here in South Bend, it would be national news. He’s doing it in Malibu and it’s not national news. What’s the difference? I don’t understand. Why is it okay for one guy to do things like that, but for me, I’m scrutinized when I swear. I’m sorry for swearing; absolve my sins.”

Since I was a child, I had been told that a person that resorts to personal attacks has been beaten.  Charlie Weis was beaten five times on a football field by Pete Carroll. For five years, Pete Carroll has beaten him in image, in regard to expectations for high profile programs.  But also  in that time frame, Carroll  placed $18 million in Weis’ pocket, as he now walks away with that remaining amount of a contract that was secured by one narrow defeat that gave the appearance of the Irish closing the gap.

Pete Carroll has denied the allegations, stating that they are simply untrue.

[CFT] [Los Angeles Times]

~ by Anthony on December 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
