NFL, Trojans, and the quest for the Lombardi Trophy

More Trojans have participated in the NFL’s Superbowl than any other college program in America. Of the 42 Superbowl’s played, only twice did a Trojan not appear on the roster of either team contending. Last year, the Giants’ Steve Smith was fitted for the championship ring, claiming his first, while denying Junior Seau and the Patriots a perfect season. Seau, Cassel, and the 11-5 Patriots will sit out this postseason, not qualifying for the championship chase, but a plethora of Trojans still remain in the hunt.

The Chargers, Colts, Ravens, and Dolphins have no Trojans on the roster, and the Vikings (though employing Booty, Radovich, and Udeze) have none active in game time participation. But these players and their teams will begin their march towards championship glory:

Arizona Cardinals-G Deuce Lutui, QB Matt Leinart

Philadelphia Eagles-T Winston Justice, DT Mike Patterson

Atlanta Falcons-T Sam Baker

New York Giants-WR Steve Smith, CB Terrell Thomas

Carolina Panthers-WR Dwayne Jarrett, C Ryan Kalil

Pittsburgh Steelers-S Troy Polamalu

Tennessee Titans-RB Lendale White

All players listed played under Pete Carroll, with Troy Polamalu being the only Trojan not to win a national Championship at USC. The playoff list is also fielding 4 of 5 starting offensive linemen from the championships of 2003 and 2004.

~ by Anthony on January 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: